QR Codes and a Pragmatic Classroom

As mentioned in previous posts, I am very hands-on in my learning and teaching, so implementing QR codes into a classroom is something that could be a very real possibility for me. I watched a video on QR codes in my EDTS 325 (Education Technology) course, and the tagline stood out to me; “QR codes make the real world ‘clickable'”. So let’s explore these useful tools!

What are QR codes?

Jordan Vos Twitter QR

QR stands for Quick Response, and these are the square codes that can be found on many items and posters in today’s virtual world. To the right is an example (you’ve probably seen them before), this code is to my Twitter page, so feel free to test it (and follow me)!

Learning About QR Codes and Goose Chase

We explored the uses of QR codes in EDTS 325. My instructor, Cammie Kannekens, set up a scavenger hunt with the app, Goose Chase. This app is cool for presenting the evidence found in the scavenger hunt, with videos and pictures taken directly within the app. It is super easy to use and set up. The only downside to this app is the requirement of an account to use it. This isn’t necessarily an issue for high school students, but for elementary students, it can be difficult when they don’t have their own devices. I haven’t played with the app in the teacher role, so I don’t have a solution, but it’s still a useful tool. It was a lot of fun to interact with the app and to be actively moving while learning.

Final Thoughts

QR Codes in My Future Classroom

I am currently finding many new, cool ways to implement QR codes into a classroom.

Some of my favorite ideas include:

  • As links on student posters (book reviews, videos, etc)
  • As an information page on newsletters for parents
  • For scavenger hunts and Escape Room activities
  • Ways to save digital information on a physical object or space
  • Adding multimedia to objects in the classroom
  • Creating assignments and attaching a digital copy, or draft plans in a shop classroom
  • Adding common links to a page with QR codes.

There are many more applications for these great tools, but this is a starting place. They have a connection to the virtual world and classroom but are a part of the physical world. This allows students to actively participate out of their seats! I am looking forward to seeing where this technology goes with classrooms!

What are your favorite uses of QR codes in a classroom? Leave me a comment, I’d love to start a dialogue!

2 thoughts on “QR Codes and a Pragmatic Classroom”

  1. Hi Jordan,
    The most common way I used them was to put the url to videos that we watched in class into the “student booklets” where they do all their work — notes/answered questions/ etc. Makes the real class room clickable!
    Cammie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Cammie,
    That sounds like a cool idea too! I am actually using a QR Code in a poster assignment and presentation in one of my college courses this week. Thanks for introducing me to this handy tool!
    Jordan

    Like

Leave a comment